The UChicago Arts Steering Committee is charged with implementing strategic five- and ten-year plans for advancing the arts at the University of Chicago. As the first university-wide advisory body for the arts since the Provost’s Study Group on the Future of the Arts in 2001, the UChicago Arts Steering Committee (with the aid of its subcommittees) works ongoingly to offer key insights and recommendations to guide short- and long-term investments that will continue to elevate the arts at the University over the next decade.

Bill Brown (Chair)
Senior Advisor to the Provost for Arts
Karla Scherer Distinguished Service Professor in American Culture, Departments of English and Visual Arts, & the College

Alison Gass
Director, Smart Museum of Art

Theaster Gates
Director, Arts + Public Life
Professor, Department of Visual Arts & the College

David Levin
Chair, Committee on Theater and Performance Studies
Addie Clark Harding Professor in Germanic Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Theater & Performance Studies, & the College

William Mazzarella
Professor, Department of Anthropology & the College

Christine Mehring
Chair, Department of Art History
Professor, Department of Art History & the College

Bill Michel
Executive Director of UChicago Arts and the Reva and David Logan Center for the Arts

Charles Newell
Artistic Director, Court Theatre

Angela Olinto
Chair, Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Homer J. Livingston Professor, Department of Astronomy and Astrophysics, Enrico Fermi Institute, & the College

Canice Prendergast
W. Allen Wallis Professor of Economics, Booth School of Business

Srikanth (Chicu) Reddy
Interim Chair, Committee on Creative Writing
Associate Professor, Department of English, the Committee on Creative Writing, & the College

Jacqueline Stewart
Director, Gray Center for Arts & Inquiry
Professor, Department of Cinema & Media Studies & the College

Jessica Stockholder
Chair, Department of Visual Arts
Raymond W. & Martha Hilpert Gruner Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Visual Arts & the College

Augusta Read Thomas
Professor of Composition, Department of Music & the College

Christopher Wild
Deputy Dean & Master of the Humanities Collegiate Division
Associate Professor, Department of Germanic Studies, Theater and Performance Studies, & the College