navigateleft navigateright

Events

Tea Time Concert: Jazz Combo

Thursday, February 22, 2018
4:30 PM

Luminous Procuress

Friday, February 23, 2018
7:00 PM

SOLD OUT: FAMILY PROGRAM: All Bones About It | AGES 5–12

Saturday, February 24, 2018
1:00 PM

Sundays at Rockefeller

Sunday, February 25, 2018
11:00 AM

Middle East Music Ensemble: The Persian Concert

Saturday, February 24, 2018
7:00 PM

East Asia by the Book! CEAS Author Talks: Yoon Sun Yang

Monday, February 26, 2018
5:00 PM

Monday Night Yoga Class

Monday, February 26, 2018
6:30 PM

Exhibitions

Mike Cloud: The Myth of Education

Friday, January 26, 2018 to Sunday, March 11, 2018

Lewis Achenbach: The Sonic Story

Tuesday, January 16, 2018 - 7:30 PM to Tuesday, March 20, 2018 - 7:30 PM

Havana Case Study Exhibition

Tuesday, September 12, 2017 to Friday, January 26, 2018

Emmanuel Pratt: Radical [Re]Constructions

Tuesday, September 12, 2017 to Sunday, June 10, 2018

Revolution Every Day

Thursday, September 14, 2017 to Sunday, January 28, 2018

Conversations with the Collection: Building/Environments

Tuesday, August 29, 2017 to Sunday, March 11, 2018

Red Press: Radical Print Culture from St. Petersburg to Chicago

Monday, September 25, 2017 - 9:00 AM to Friday, February 2, 2018 - 4:45 PM

Alejandro Cesarco: Song

Saturday, November 18, 2017 - 12:00 PM to Sunday, January 28, 2018 - 5:00 PM

Selections from a History of Modernism

Tuesday, December 12, 2017 to Sunday, March 18, 2018

Around Chicago

Designing for Chance the Rapper and South Side Chicago

Artist Brandon Breaux had a revelation: He didn’t have to leave Chicago’s South Side to do something extraordinary.

Steppenwolf Theatre Company adds two new ensemble members

When artistic director Anna D. Shapiro saw Celeste M. Cooper in Court Theatre’s Blues For an Alabama Sky, she said "I couldn't take my eyes off her."

Is Chicago the Poetry Capital of America?

It’s home to one of the most important poetry magazines (with its cultural center devoted to the genre), and it’s in the middle of a youth-poetry renaissance.

Black creativity celebrated at Museum of Science and Industry

Dr. Monica Peek, an associate professor and researcher at the University of Chicago, speaks with classes at MSI hoping to inspire the next generations of scientists "to tap into their inner creativity, their natural genius, their natural ability to think about problems in an innovative way."

Nice ice baby!

In The Economist's "1843," Professor Ada Palmer of the University of Chicago is interviewed about just what makes a good gelato.

Margaret Burroughs, artist and co-founder of DuSable Museum

Synonymous with Chicago is the DuSable Museum, and inseparably linking them is Margaret Burroughs.

Chicago says architecture event drew 550K participants

The LA Times
January 14, 2018

Affordable artist residences break ground in Chicago’s Washington Park

The project is the latest development aimed at revitalizing Chicago’s Garfield Boulevard corridor. Read more.

Chicago's DuSable Museum converts a horse stable into a powerful space

Situated just one block west of the archi­tecturally rich University of Chicago, the DuSable Museum of African American History is undertaking a major preserva­tion effort.

Show More