navigateleft navigateright

Events

Community Hours

Wednesday, December 13, 2017
11:00 AM

Community Hours

Saturday, December 16, 2017
11:00 AM

Sitting Ovation Sessions

Sunday, December 17, 2017
2:00 PM

Mel Goodman - "Whistleblower at the CIA" - Mark Karlin

Monday, January 8, 2018
6:00 PM

Exhibition walk-through: Alejandro Cesarco, Song

Wednesday, January 10, 2018
6:00 PM

Gallery Talk: Factories and Fire

Saturday, January 13, 2018
2:00 PM

Joshua Abrams & Natural Information Society

Saturday, January 13, 2018
8:00 PM

Sundays at Rockefeller: MLK Sunday

Sunday, January 14, 2018
11:00 AM

Exhibitions

Brown People Are the Wrens in the Parking Lot

Friday, November 10, 2017 to Sunday, January 7, 2018

Havana Case Study Exhibition

Tuesday, September 12, 2017 to Friday, January 26, 2018

Emmanuel Pratt: Radical [Re]Constructions

Tuesday, September 12, 2017 to Sunday, June 10, 2018

The Hysterical Material

Thursday, September 14, 2017 - 10:00 AM to Sunday, December 17, 2017 - 6:00 PM

Revolution Every Day

Thursday, September 14, 2017 to Sunday, January 28, 2018

Rare Earth

Friday, September 22, 2017 to Friday, November 17, 2017

Conversations with the Collection: Building/Environments

Tuesday, August 29, 2017 to Sunday, March 11, 2018

Jayna Zweiman: Welcome Blanket

Tuesday, July 18, 2017 to Sunday, December 17, 2017

Red Press: Radical Print Culture from St. Petersburg to Chicago

Monday, September 25, 2017 - 9:00 AM to Monday, January 15, 2018 - 4:45 PM

Around Chicago

Giant mural by Kerry James Marshall honors Chicago women of culture

2016 UChicago Rosenberger Medalist Kerry James Marshall unveiled “RUSH MORE” is an homage to women who have shaped arts and culture in Chicago this past weekend.

Meryl Streep Takes on Katharine Graham in the Role of a Lifetime

Meryl Streep is playing longtime Washington Post publisher and owner and Pulitzer Prize winning author Katharine Graham (A.B. ’38).

Prince Harry, Theaster Gates To Appear At Obama Foundation Global Summit In Chicago

The Obama Foundation announced on Thursday a slate of speakers and facilitators who will appear, including Prince Harry and Chicago-based artist/community builder Theaster Gates.

Art Deco high-rise in Hyde Park, new arena at McCormick Place among top picks for Open House Chicago

Stony Island Arts Bank, part of UChicago Professor Theaster Gates's Rebuild Foundation, was part of Open House Chicago.

Opening Closed Schools

Over four years after the school closed, on Saturday afternoon, October 7, the Overton Elementary building temporarily reopened to the public for Opening Closings: Reactivating Closed Chicago Public Schools.

A cultural phenomenon celebrates 50 years of independence

The nation’s oldest black-owned publishing company is celebrating 50 years of giving black writers an independent platform for their work.

Chicago stage veteran Ann Dowd wins Emmy for ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’

Former Court Theater actress (“Uncle Vanya,” “The Glass Menagerie”) Ann Dowd wins Emmy for "The Handmaids Tale."

Chicago's Own Mount Rushmore? Huge Mural Will Honor Iconic Chicago Women

Oprah Winfrey, Gwendolyn Brooks and other powerful women in Chicago history will line up in formation Downtown in the biggest painting yet by Kerry James Marshall.

Your guide to the Hyde Park Jazz Festival

The Hyde Park Jazz Festival has become a magnet for thousands of listeners each fall, the 11th annual event featuring Chicago and visiting musicians on several stages this weekend.

Show More