addcalendar Download Event

Date & Time

Saturday, March 5, 2016
8:00 PM


Mandel Hall


Free, donations requested: $10 general, $5 UChicago students and children


Music Department


Johannes Brahms’ Symphony No 3 in F Major, Op. 90 – an impassioned, eloquent, and cohesive masterpiece labeled as Brahms’ Eroica by the composer’s close friend Hans Richter – makes up the first half of the University Symphony’s March 2016 concert. Igor Stravinsky’s ballet burlesque of 1910-1911, Petrushka – the second of three seminal scores commissioned in close succession by Serge Diaghilev for his Ballet Russes, which poignantly relates the timeless tragedy of the human spirit – culminates this captivating program of orchestral masterworks.

Reception to follow.

Barbara Schubert, Music Director.