addcalendar Download Event
Buy Tickets/RSVP

Date & Time

Saturday, September 21, 2019
3:00 PM

Location

Other Location

Admission

Free and open to the public

Contact

Seminary Co-op Bookstore
(773) 752-4381
events@semcoop.com

Description

“Powerful. Captivating. Heart-wrenching. Rena Barron has crafted a thrilling, twisty, unputdownable epic about a complex, brave young woman who must find the true magic within herself in order to fight for her family, her people, and her life.”—Samira Ahmed, author of "Love, Hate & Other Filters" and "Internment"

A discussion with Rena Barron, author of "Kingdom of Souls". A Q&A and signing will follow the discussion.

At 57th Street Books

About the Book: Magic has a price—if you’re willing to pay.

The lush world building of "Children of Blood and Bone" meets the sweeping scale of "Strange the Dreamer" in this captivating epic YA fantasy debut.

Born into a family of powerful witchdoctors, Arrah yearns for magic of her own. But each year she fails to call forth her ancestral powers, while her ambitious mother watches with growing disapproval.

There’s only one thing Arrah hasn’t tried, a deadly last resort: trading years of her own life for scraps of magic. Until the Kingdom’s children begin to disappear, and Arrah is desperate to find the culprit.

She uncovers something worse. The long-imprisoned Demon King is stirring. And if he rises, his hunger for souls will bring the world to its knees… unless Arrah pays the price for the magic to stop him.

Inspired by tales of folk magic in her own community, Rena Barron spins a darkly magical tale perfect for fans of "Three Dark Crowns" or "Shadow and Bone", about a girl caught between gods, monsters, and her own mother’s schemes.

About the Author: Rena Barron grew up in small-town Alabama where stories of magic and adventure sparked her imagination. After penning her first awful poem in middle school, she graduated to writing short stories and novels by high school. Rena loves all things science fiction, ghosts, and superheroes. When she’s not writing, she can be found reading or brushing up on her French. Follow her at @renathedreamer and renabarron.com.